Home and Onward

I almost forgot to mention that we finally did make it back to Costa Rica from our venture through South America. I’ve actually been here for over a week now.

It’s been delicious for my soul, being home. Whilst we were away, I found myself missing everybody here in ways that I had never quite missed them before. Since this was the first time I’d ever been on a trip of this sort, I suppose it entailed new emotions and experiences; and overall it made me appreciate my people even more deeply.

Our trip was necessarily great. Even though I wouldn’t know how to start summarising the extent of my experiences, I can still glance back with a grin of success: We were transformed. Really transformed. I feel that I’ve been impacted permanently, in many different ways. There were so many things that are normally only ever talked about that I got to experience directly in real life. I faced some prominent fears and personal limitations — and I overcame them. Essentially, I lived one of my biggest dreams. (That doesn’t mean, of course, that the dream is finished; my love for travel has only been further impassioned.)
Not to mention, of course, we learned a heap of “do’s” and “do not’s” concerning various aspects of traveling, particularly “do not’s” for when it comes to crossing borders.  I’ll say no more about that.

This post, therefore, will conclude and end my narrative for our South America backpacking trip (a narrative which only truly was just a glimpse of our full adventure.) Now this blog will again become a dwelling for my ramblings and musings.

The house I call home. (Photo credit to my sister, Haley.)

However, I can’t go without at least mentioning the topic implied by the second half of this post’s title. As it happened similarly with Chrystel, I was presented with the “Now what?” interrogation upon returning.
You see, I’m at that notorious age and position where I’m facing the daunting question of what I’m going to do with my life.
It’s daunting, but I’m undaunted.
Sure, perhaps I have my mild melodramatic moments (very, very short moments,) but I’m honestly not anxious about it. Reason number one is that I know God has plans for me, and He’ll let me know what they are, in due time, if I’m keen to listen. Reason number two  is that I’m very much a live-in-the-moment type of person. People often ask me what I want to do with my life (as if I hadn’t even started yet — what a notion,) and whether I say it or not, I always think to myself, “This is my life; I am already doing it.” At least on a small scale, I’m doing what I want to do, and I hope to do more of it, more deeply, more effectively, always learning and always open to progress. Then, whether it’s college, or work, or perhaps another backpacking trip, I know I’ll make it there gradually and promptly. I do prepare for the future, because preparing is important, but I don’t want to get entangled in a notion of only ever preparing — getting caught in that mentality of, “When I finish highschool, then I’ll really be where I want to be….when I finish college, then my life will begin….when I get that job, then I’ll really be living….when I get married, then I’ll be fulfilled….when I retire, then I’ll be happy….” because I’d arrive at that point and realise I’d spent my entire life putting myself off, waiting for my circumstances to be convenient before I allowed myself to live freely, and fully.

I always find myself saying, “You don’t have to go to college to be successful in life.” In reality, that simply depends on your definition of success. If I find that my success or my dream lies untouched on the other side of a flowing river of university education, then I’ll cross it. Nevertheless, I’ve come to realise that rather than prioritizing a focus on what I want to do, it’s more important to know what kind of person I want to be.

Live now, not later, I think.

Credit to Bethany Appelhans

Credit to Bethany Appelhans

One thought on “Home and Onward

Leave a Reply

