Roaming Wyoming

We have a very large, poofy ball of fluff that wanders around our house all the time. For the most part, though, I’m pretty sure he’s a cat. His name is Rain, and my mom actually brought him from Montana to Costa Rica on a plane when she flew down here; so he’s quite the validated member of the family now. However, it’s happened a few times that he’s gotten the notion into his head to try to steal my handkerchief in the early mornings before I wake up. He pounces up onto my desk and makes absolute certain to knock everything over, then tries to snatch the handkerchief and take it away so he can chew on it. I caught him in the act the first couple of times, but there was once after getting up that I walked out of the room to find my handkerchief on the floor, clearly the victim of Rain’s feline mischievousness.

That really has nothing to do with what I was going to say, though. Instead, I was going to mention an analogy that came to mind several weeks ago as I was driving across the US: I think that saying Wyoming is unappealing and uninteresting is like saying that elderly folk are unappealing and uninteresting. It’s really just a matter of opinion and preference. That’s to no offense to the elderly, of course; I love older people, and I get along with them exorbitantly well. We could have just as easily used new-born babies as a comparison too. Or even abstract painting. The point is that, in many cases, you just need to know how to find the beauty in something to learn how to appreciate it. I think it has to do with what’s inside you. I’ve found that a person’s interpretation of an objective entity — like a colour or a place — usually displays more about the person’s character and mentality than it does the object itself. The notion is similar to a concept used in clear communication. Nobody can make absolute certain that his or her personality, speech patterns, or mannerisms are completely inoffensive to every range of person in the world. Some things, regardless of how we mean them, are often taken a different way entirely, simply based on a mentality or perspective that a person has who hears them. That’s why it’s crucial that we are all clear in our relationships and conversations about how we received things or how we’re affected on the inside. As I’ve been diligently taught, it’s our own responsibility to let others in on how we’re doing inwardly, not simply presume that they’ll know it automatically. As a friend of mine once said, you don’t have to apologise for who you are unless it hurts somebody else. However, sometimes you can’t know you’ve hurt somebody if they don’t tell you. Coincidentally, it’s all very mutual.

In any case, as I had mentioned, last month I drove by myself through the entire United States — and I do mean the entire United States. I traversed from Montana, through Wyoming, Colorado, Kansas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, part of Texas, and finally into Louisiana; so I had plenty of time to ruminate about all this, and other things. It was heaps of fun, though. My heart has found its bliss by traveling the world. Therefore, for the record, I think Wyoming is beautiful; and here’s a quote to go with it (since we all know that quotes by famous people make things seem that much more consequential, right?) “Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it,” by Confucius. Nevertheless, too much of anything, disagreeable or great, can still become exhausting — whether it’s icecream, sunshine, kissing, or otherwise.

In the end, the word of the day is that there’s nothing wrong with liking something most people don’t like, or disliking something most people love….except for when it comes to country music. Clearly people who like country music are messed up.

2 thoughts on “Roaming Wyoming

  1. Hey you!! I LIKE country music……pick up trucks, relationships, and puppy dogs….I like it all. 🙂 and I will have you know……..I’m very much the opposite of “messed up”……I’m cleaned up 🙂

  2. …and thought you might like this……. “A man should hear a little music, read a little poetry, and see a fine picture every day of his life, in order that worldly cares may not obliterate the sense of the beautiful which God has implanted in the human soul.” ― Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Leave a Reply

